Skip to content

homemade vanilla extract

July 27, 2012

I have always wanted to make my own vanilla extract, since you can be certain of the quality of vanilla that you’re getting. So, I went by Fishs Eddy on my way home and picked up two 8.5 oz flask swing bottles. I picked up some vanilla beans and had a decent vodka at home. Your amount of vodka per vanilla bean will depend on the size of your vessel. Below are the proportions that I used.

Homemade Vanilla Extract 

Makes two 8.5 oz bottles

Ingredients

4 vanilla beans

16 oz vodka

Directions

1. Trim ends off the vanilla beans and cut into 2 inch sections.

2. Place trimmed beans and also toss in any trimmings (they will only add to the flavor), into the vessel you’ve chosen.

3. Using a funnel, fill the bottle with the vodka.

4. Store the bottle at room temperature for at least six weeks.

5. After 6 weeks, feel free to strain the mixture. However, keeping the seeds and pods in the bottle will only make the extract better with time.

6. Store in a cool, dark place. The extract should keep forever.

Also, since I am keeping the pods in the extract, if you are running low, just add some more vodka and let it continue to age. It is like a never-ending bottle of vanilla extract!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2012 9:03 am

    I will update with time progression pictures as it ages, too!

  2. Crista permalink
    July 30, 2012 8:47 am

    wait. you use VODKA to make vanilla extract?!?

    • July 31, 2012 9:44 am

      You can use any liquor that you like. I know some recipes that use bourbon, too!

Trackbacks

  1. summer berry pavlovas « Bon Vivant in New York

Leave a comment